Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste

BGZ operates the Würgassen interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste. The facility is used to store residues from the operation and dismantling of the Würgassen nuclear power plant, in particular, until this waste can be put safely into final storage at the Konrad repository.

The packaged low-level and intermediate-level waste consists, for example, of contaminated plant components, tools, protective clothing or used filters. AZW was commissioned in 2007. As the low-level and intermediate-level radioactive waste produced during the operation and dismantling of the nuclear power plant is stored here, these interim storage facilities play an important role in the dismantling of the nuclear power plant.

Logistics center for the Konrad nuclear waste repository

The BGZ Gesellschaft für Zwischenlagerung plans to build a logistics center for low and medium-level radioactive waste on the site of the former Würgassen nuclear power plant. From 2027, the logistics center will ensure precise supplies to the Konrad nuclear waste repository near Salzgitter. You can find detailed information and all the background information on this construction project here.

Würgassen: Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste
(Northrhine-Westphalia)

Zum Kernkraftwerk
37688 Beverungen

Würgassen: Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste (AZW)

Commissioned: 2007
Licensing / Supervisory authority: District Government City of Detmold
Facility’s external dimensions:
40 m x 21 m x 10 m
Licensed storage volume:
max. 3.000 m³

Zwischenlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle

Am Standort Würgassen betreibt die BGZ das Abfall-Zwischenlager Würgassen für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle. Hier werden insbesondere Reststoffe aus dem Betrieb und Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks Würgassen bis zu ihrer Abgabe an das Endlager Konrad sicher zwischengelagert.

Bei den verpackten schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfällen handelt es sich beispielsweise um kontaminierte Anlagenteile, Werkzeuge, Schutzkleidung oder verbrauchte Filter. Das AZW wurde 2007 in Betrieb genommen. Da die bei Betrieb und Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks anfallenden schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfälle hier eingelagert werden, leistet das Abfall-Zwischenlager einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks.

Logistikzentrum für das Endlager Konrad

Die BGZ Gesellschaft für Zwischenlagerung plant den Bau eines Logistikzentrums für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle auf dem Gelände des ehemaligen Atomkraftwerks Würgassen. Ab dem Jahr 2027 soll das Logistikzentrum die passgenaue Belieferung des Endlagers Konrad nahe Salzgitter sicherstellen. Ausführliche Informationen und alle Hintergründe zu diesem Bauvorhaben finden Sie hier.

Abfall-Zwischenlager Würgassen
(Nordrhein-Westfalen)

Zum Kernkraftwerk
37688 Beverungen

Abfall-Zwischenlager Würgassen (AZW)

Inbetriebnahme: 2007
Genehmigungs-/Aufsichtsbehörde: Bezirksregierung Detmold
Außenabmessungen des Lagers:
40 m x 21 m x 10 m
Genehmigtes Lagervolumen:
max. 3.000 m³