Unterweser interim storage facility

The Unterweser interim storage facility in the District of Wesermarsch, Lower Saxony, went into operation with the emplacement of the first CASTOR® V/19 type cask on 18 June 2007. The City of Nordenham, the District City of Brake and the municipalities of Stadland, Ovelgönne, Loxstedt and Hagen are all situated within a radius of 10 kilometres. The site grounds belong to Rodenkirchen in the Municipality of Stadland, District of Wesermarsch. The licence under the Atomic Energy Act for the storage of nuclear fuels in the Unterweser interim storage facility expires 40 years after emplacement of the first cask. BGZ has been responsible for operating the Unterweser interim storage facility since 1 January 2019.

The interim storage facility is located within the confines of the Unterweser nuclear power plant site on the western bank of the River Weser. This means that CASTOR® casks only need to be moved a short distance from the reactor building to the interim storage facility and that no public roads need to be used. The interim storage facility grounds are located on an around 0.9 hectare fenced-in area on the roughly 50-hectare overall site.

The reception and storage areas, as well as parts of the operating area, are located in the interim storage facility storage building. The reception area is adjacent to the western side of the storage area. The two areas are separated by a shielding wall. The storage area covers a total area of approximately 1,350 m². Around 750 m² of this area are actually used for storage purposes. The facility stores 80 casks in 16 rows, each with 5 spaces.

The current state of the licensing procedures for high-level radioactive waste interim storage facilities can be found on the website of the federal office for the Safety of nuclear waste management (BASE). Here.

Unterweser interim storage facility
(Lower Saxony)

Dedesdorfer Str. 2
26935 Stadland

Cask spaces: 80 licensed | 40 occupied*
Current occupancy: 40 CASTOR® V/19
Application: 1999
License: 2003
Commissioning: 2007
Licensed until: 2047
Licensed inventory: Maximum 800 t SM** | Maximum 3 MW***

* On 10 June 2020
** t SM = Tonnes of heavy metal
*** MW = Total thermal power in megawatts

Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste

BGZ operates the Unterweser 1 and Unterweser 2 interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste. These facilities are used to store residues from the operation and dismantling of the Unterweser nuclear power plant, in particular, until this waste can be put safely into final storage at the Konrad repository.

The packaged low-level and intermediate-level waste consists, for example, of contaminated plant components, tools, protective clothing or used filters. AZU 1 was commissioned in 1981; AZU 2 in 2020. As the low-level and intermediate-level radioactive waste produced during the operation and dismantling of the nuclear power plant is stored here, these interim storage facilities play an important role in the dismantling of the nuclear power plant.

Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste (AZU 1)

Commissioned: 1981
Licensing / Supervisory authority: Ministry for the Environment, Energy and Climate Protection, Lower Saxony
Facility’s external dimensions:
71 m x 29 m x 8 m
Licensed storage volume:
max. 2.600 m³

Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste (AZU 2)

Commissioned: 2020
Licensing / Supervisory authority: Ministry for the Environment, Energy and Climate Protection, Lower Saxony
Facility’s external dimensions:
79 m x 28 m x 17 m
Licensed storage volume:
max. 5.000 m³

Zwischenlager für hochradioaktive Abfälle Unterweser

In Niedersachsen, im Landkreis Wesermarsch ist am 18. Juni 2007 mit der Einlagerung des ersten Behälters (Typ CASTOR® V/19) das Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Unterweser in Betrieb gegangen. Innerhalb eines Radius von 10 Kilometern befinden sich die Stadt Nordenham, die Kreisstadt Brake sowie die Gemeinden Stadland, Ovelgönne, Loxstedt und Hagen. Das Standortgelände gehört zu Rodenkirchen in der Gemeinde Stadland, Landkreis Wesermarsch. Die Genehmigung nach dem Atomgesetz für die Aufbewahrung von Kernbrennstoffen im Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Unterweser ist auf 40 Jahre befristet, gerechnet ab Einlagerung des ersten Behälters. Seit 1. Januar 2019 ist die BGZ als neue Betreibergesellschaft für das Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Unterweser verantwortlich.

Der Standort des Brennelemente-Zwischenlagers befindet sich innerhalb des abgeschlossenen Betriebsgeländes des Kernkraftwerks Unterweser am westlichen Ufer der Weser. Dadurch ist der Transportweg des CASTOR®-Behälters vom Reaktorgebäude zum Brennelemente-Zwischenlager kurz und öffentliche Verkehrswege müssen nicht genutzt werden. Das Gelände des Brennelemente-Zwischenlagers nimmt ca. 0,9 Hektar vom ca. 50 Hektar großen Gesamtgelände ein und ist von einem Zaun umgeben.

Im Lagergebäude des Brennelemente-Zwischenlagers befinden sich der Empfangs- und der Lagerbereich sowie Teile des Betriebsbereiches. Der Empfangsbereich grenzt an der Westseite an den Lagerbereich an. Beide Bereiche sind durch eine Abschirmwand voneinander getrennt. Der Lagerbereich verfügt über eine Gesamtfläche von ca. 1.350 m². Hiervon werden rund 750 m² als effektive Lagerfläche genutzt. Die Anordnung der Lagerbehälter erfolgt in 16 Reihen zu jeweils 5 Stellplätzen, sodass insgesamt 80 Behälter in das Lager eingestellt werden können.

Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Unterweser
(Niedersachsen)

Dedesdorfer Str. 2
26935 Stadland

Behälterstellplätze: 80 genehmigt | 40 belegt
Aktuelle Belegung: 40 CASTOR® V/19
Beantragung: 1999
Genehmigung: 2003
Inbetriebnahme: 2007
Genehmigt bis: 2047
Genehmigtes Inventar: maximal 800 t SM** | maximal 3 MW***

* Stand 16.12.2019
** t SM = Angabe in Tonnen Schwermetall
*** MW = Angabe der Gesamtwärmeleistung in Megawatt

Zwischenlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle

Am Standort Unterweser betreibt die BGZ das Abfall-Zwischenlager Unterweser 1 für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle. Hier werden insbesondere Reststoffe aus dem Betrieb und Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks Unterweser bis zu ihrer Abgabe an das Endlager Konrad sicher zwischengelagert.

Bei den verpackten schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfällen handelt es sich beispielsweise um kontaminierte Anlagenteile, Werkzeuge, Schutzkleidung oder verbrauchte Filter. Das AZU 1 wurde 1981 in Betrieb genommen. Da die bei Betrieb und Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks anfallenden schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfälle hier eingelagert werden, leistet das Abfall-Zwischenlager einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks.

Abfall-Zwischenlager Unterweser (AZU)

Inbetriebnahme: 1981
Genehmigungs-/Aufsichtsbehörde: Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Umwelt, Energie, Bauen und Klimaschutz
Außenabmessungen des Lagers:
71 m x 29 m x 8 m
Genehmigtes Lagervolumen:
max. 2.600 m³