Philippsburg interim storage facility

The Philippsburg interim storage facility is located between Philippsburg and Oberhausen-Rheinhausen in the Municipality of Philippsburg in Baden-Württemberg and went into operation with the emplacement of the first cask on 19 March 2007. The licence under the Atomic Energy Act for the storage of nuclear fuels in the Philippsburg interim storage facility expires 40 years after emplacement of the first cask. BGZ has been responsible for operating the Philippsburg interim storage facility since 1 January 2019.

The interim storage facility is located on the site of the Philippsburg nuclear power plant and is enclosed by a fence. This means that casks only need to be moved a short distance from the reactor building to the interim storage facility and that no public roads need to be used. The storage building consists of one shipment and two storage areas. The shipment area is located to the north west of the storage building. Storage area 1 has a surface area of 1,150 m² for 72 spaces; storage area 2 covers 1,250 m² for 80 spaces. Casks are stored in the storage areas in 9 or 10 double rows, each with 8 spaces, totalling 152 spaces.

Return from reprocessing

The Philippsburg interim storage facility will receive reprocessed waste from outside Germany. The concept for the return of vitrified intermediate level and high level radioactive waste from reprocessing in France and the United Kingdom to Germany will ensure that returned casks are fairly distributed to various interim storage facilities throughout Germany. 20 casks from the United Kingdom and 5 from France will be distributed to 4 on-site interim storage facilities: Philippsburg in Baden-Württemberg (five casks containing intermediate-level radioactive waste block canisters from France), Biblis in Hesse (six casks with high-level radioactive waste block canisters), Brokdorf in Schleswig-Holstein (seven casks with high-level radioactive waste block canisters) and Isar in Bavaria (seven casks with high-level radioactive waste block canisters).

More information about the return of radioactive waste from reprocessing is available here.

Philippsburg interim storage facility
(Baden-Württemberg)

Rheinschanzinsel
76661 Philippsburg

Operator: BGZ Gesellschaft für Zwischenlagerung mbH
Cask spaces: 152 licensed | 62 occupied*
Current occupancy: 33 CASTOR® V/19 | 29 CASTOR® V/52
Application: 1999
License: 2003
Commissioning: 2007
Licensed until: 2047
Licensed inventory: Maximum 1.600 t SM** | Maximum 6 MW***

* On 10 June 2020
** t SM = Tonnes of heavy metal
*** MW = Total thermal power in megawatts

Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste

BGZ operates the Philippsburg interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste. The facility is used to store residues from the operation and dismantling of the Philippsburg nuclear power plant, in particular, until this waste can be put safely into final storage at the Konrad repository.

The packaged low-level and intermediate-level waste consists, for example, of contaminated plant components, tools, protective clothing or used filters. AZP was commissioned in 2020. As the low-level and intermediate-level radioactive waste produced during the operation and dismantling of the nuclear power plant is stored here, these interim storage facilities play an important role in the dismantling of the nuclear power plant.

Interim storage facility for low-level and intermediate-level waste Philippsburg (AZP)

Commissioned: 2020
Licensing / Supervisory authority: Ministry of the Environment, Climate Protection and the Energy Sector, Baden-Württemberg
Facility’s external dimensions:
145 m x 30 m x 21 m
Licensed storage volume:
max. 15.000 m³

Das Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Philippsburg

Das Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Philippsburg liegt zwischen Philippsburg und Oberhausen-Rheinhausen auf dem Gebiet der Gemeinde Philippsburg in Baden-Württemberg und wurde am 19. März 2007 mit der Einlagerung des ersten Behälters in Betrieb genommen. Die Genehmigung nach dem Atomgesetz für die Aufbewahrung von Kernbrennstoffen im Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Philippsburg ist auf 40 Jahre befristet, gerechnet ab Einlagerung des ersten Behälters. Seit 01. Januar 2019 ist die BGZ als neue Betreibergesellschaft für das Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Philippsburg verantwortlich.

Das Brennelemente-Zwischenlager befindet sich auf dem Betriebsgelände des Kernkraftwerks Philippsburg und ist von einem Zaun umschlossen. Dadurch ist der Transportweg von Behältern vom Reaktorgebäude zum Brennelemente-Zwischenlager kurz und öffentliche Verkehrswege müssen nicht genutzt werden. Das Lagergebäude ist in einen Verladebereich und zwei Lagerbereiche unterteilt. Der Verladebereich befindet sich an der Nordwestseite des Lagergebäudes. Lagerbereich 1 hat eine Grundfläche von 1.150 m² für 72 Stellplätze, Lagerbereich 2 verfügt über 1.250 m² für 80 Stellplätze. In den Lagerbereichen werden die Behälter in 9 bzw. 10 Doppelreihen mit jeweils 8 Stellplätzen angeordnet, wodurch sich insgesamt 152 Stellplätze ergeben.

Rückführung aus der Wiederaufarbeitung

Das Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Philippsburg ist für die Aufnahme von Wiederaufarbeitungsabfällen aus dem Ausland vorgesehen. Das Konzept zur Rückführung der verglasten mittel- und hochradioaktiven Abfälle aus der Wiederaufarbeitung in Frankreich und Großbritannien nach Deutschland sieht eine bundesweit ausgewogene Verteilung der rückzuführenden Behälter auf verschiedene Brennelemente-Zwischenlager in Deutschland vor. 20 Behälter aus Großbritannien und 5 Behälter aus Frankreich sollen auf 4 Standortzwischenlager verteilt werden: Philippsburg in Baden-Württemberg (fünf Behälter mit mittelradioaktiven Kokillen aus Frankreich), Biblis in Hessen (sechs Behälter mit hochradioaktiven Kokillen), Brokdorf in Schleswig-Holstein (sieben Behälter mit hochradioaktiven Kokillen) und Isar in Bayern (sieben Behälter mit hochradioaktiven Kokillen).

Genehmigungsverfahren

Eine Übersicht über bisher erteilte Genehmigungen und ggf. laufende Genehmigungsverfahren finden Sie hier: https://www.base.bund.de/DE/themen/ne/zwischenlager/standorte/kkp.html

Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Philippsburg
(Baden-Württemberg)
Rheinschanzinsel
76661 Philippsburg

Betreiber: BGZ Gesellschaft für Zwischenlagerung mbH
Behälterstellplätze: 152 genehmigt | 62 belegt*
Aktuelle Belegung: 33 CASTOR® V/19 | 29 CASTOR® V/52
Beantragung: 1999
Genehmigung: 2003
Inbetriebnahme: 2007
Genehmigt bis: 2047
Genehmigtes Inventar: maximal 1.600 t SM** | maximal 6 MW***

* Stand 13.05.2020
** t SM = Angabe in Tonnen Schwermetall
*** MW = Angabe der Gesamtwärmeleistung in Megawatt

Zwischenlager für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle

Am Standort Philippsburg betreibt die BGZ das Abfall-Zwischenlager Philippsburg für schwach- und mittelradioaktive Abfälle. Hier werden insbesondere Reststoffe aus dem Betrieb und Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks Philippsburg bis zu ihrer Abgabe an das Endlager Konrad sicher zwischengelagert.

Bei den verpackten schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfällen handelt es sich beispielsweise um kontaminierte Anlagenteile, Werkzeuge, Schutzkleidung oder verbrauchte Filter. Das AZP wurde 2020 in Betrieb genommen. Da die bei Betrieb und Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks anfallenden schwach- und mittelradioaktiven Abfälle hier eingelagert werden, leistet das Abfall-Zwischenlager einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Rückbau des Kernkraftwerks.

Abfall-Zwischenlager Philippsburg (AZP)

Inbetriebnahme: 2020
Genehmigungs-/Aufsichtsbehörde: Ministerium für Umwelt, Klima und Energiewirtschaft Baden-Württemberg
Außenabmessungen des Lagers:
145 m x 30 m x 21 m
Genehmigtes Lagervolumen:
max. 15.000 m³