Overview of the BGZ sites

Schleswig Holstein

Brokdorf interim storage facility (BZF)

Cask spaces: 100 licensed | 57 occupied
Current occupancy: 57 CASTOR V/19
Application: 1999
License: 2003
Commissioning: 2007
Licensed until: 2047
Licensed inventory: Maximum 1.000 t SM** | Maximum 3,4 MW**

[More info]

Krümmel interim storage facility (BZK)

Cask spaces: 65 approved | 42 occupied
Current occupancy: 42 CASTOR V/52
Application: 1999
License: 2003
Commissioning: 2006
Licensed until: 2046
Licensed inventory: Maximum 775 tHM | Maximum 3 MW

[More info]

Pursuant to the Waste Management Transfer Act, the previous operators of interim storage facilities holding a licence pursuant to §6 of the Atomic Energy Act had to submit their licence to the BGZ by 1 January 2019, free of charge.

On 1 January 2019, the Brunsbüttel interim storage facility did not possess a licence pursuant to §6 of the Atomic Energy Act. Instead of transferring the interim storage facility to the BGZ within the meaning of the Waste Management Transfer Act by 1 January 2019 (which could not take place in this case), the Waste Management Transfer Act provided for the BGZ’s accession to the licensing procedure conducted by the operator of the Brunsbüttel interim storage facility.

Pursuant to this requirement, the BGZ acceded the licensing procedure, with the statutory proviso that the current operator of the Brunsbüttel interim storage facility will remain responsible for managing the licencing procedure until the storage approval is issued.

The applicant and operator of the Brunsbüttel interim storage facility (Kernkraftwerk Brunsbüttel GmbH & Co. oHG) will therefore continue to conduct proceedings. In acceding the licencing procedure, the BGZ, in accordance with its legislative mandate, will ensure that all safety-related requirements are fulfilled within the framework of the subsequent operational management after the licence has been granted.

Übersicht der BGZ-Standorte

Schleswig-Holstein

Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Brokdorf (BZF)

Behälterstellplätze: 100 genehmigt | 50 belegt
Aktuelle Belegung: 50 CASTOR V/19
Beantragung: 1999
Genehmigung: 2003
Inbetriebnahme: 2007
Genehmigt bis: 2047
Genehmigtes Inventar: maximal 1.000 t SM | maximal 3,4 MW

[Mehr Infos]

Brennelemente-Zwischenlager Krümmel (BZK)

Behälterstellplätze: 65 genehmigt | 42 belegt
Aktuelle Belegung: 42 CASTOR V/52
Beantragung: 1999
Genehmigung: 2003
Inbetriebnahme: 2006
Genehmigt bis: 2046
Genehmigtes Inventar: maximal 775 t SM | maximal 3 MW

[Mehr Infos]

Nach dem Entsorgungsübergangsgesetz haben die bisherigen Betreiber der Zwischenlager, die über eine Genehmigung nach § 6 des Atomgesetzes verfügen, diese der BGZ zum 1. Januar 2019 unentgeltlich zu übertragen.

Das Zwischenlager Brunsbüttel verfügte zum 1. Januar 2019 nicht über eine Genehmigung nach § 6 des Atomgesetzes. Anstelle eines Übergangs des Zwischenlagers auf die BGZ im Sinne des Entsorgungsübergangsgesetzes zum 01. Januar 2019, der insoweit nicht erfolgen konnte, sieht das Entsorgungsübergangsgesetz den Beitritt der BGZ zu dem vom Betreiber des Zwischenlagers Brunsbüttel geführten Genehmigungsverfahren vor.

Entsprechend dieser Vorgabe ist die BGZ dem Genehmigungsverfahren mit der gesetzlich vorgesehenen Maßgabe beigetreten, dass bis zur Erteilung der Aufbewahrungsgenehmigung der aktuelle Betreiber des Zwischenlagers Brunsbüttel für die Führung des Genehmigungsverfahrens verantwortlich ist.

Der Antragsteller und Betreiber des Zwischenlagers Brunsbüttel (Kernkraftwerk Brunsbüttel GmbH & Co. oHG) wird daher auch weiterhin die Verfahrensführung ausüben. Dem gesetzgeberischen Auftrag entsprechend wird die BGZ durch den Beitritt zum Genehmigungsverfahren sicherstellen, dass nach Genehmigungserteilung alle sicherheitstechnischen Anforderungen im Rahmen der späteren Betriebsführung erfüllt werden.